First Name
Jason
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 XL STX SE 4x2
Occupation
machinist
According to the online manual: Towing - Recommended Towing Weights (fordservicecontent.com)
Max towing on a light duty hitch (i.e., bumper pull) is 3500lbs.
With heavy duty hitch (i.e., receiver hitch) is 1650lbs without trailer brake and 7,500lbs with trailer brake.
The confusing part is that it doesn't mention if the bumper pull max is with a trailer brake, so why would the heavy-duty hitch be only 1650lbs without trailer brakes?
And I read 'trailer brakes' as brakes on the trailer, not meaning Trailer Brake Controller.
Sponsored

Cabose-1

First Name
Eli
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ranger XLT FX2
Occupation
Student
Yes you can do 7500lbs pull. This is my setup. The receiver says 8k with weight distribution hitch. Catch is the ranger is rated for 7500. Factory wiring, i bought and installed it.

Even legaly you are good.
I am no lawyer
But if this brakes the law as in not equipped from factory good luck with your wreck,
Then at least half of the heavy duty trucks running goosenecks and 5th wheels are not as equipped from factory. They all have aftermarket attachments. Could be a few with factory 5th wheel or gooseneck connections from factory????? No not predrilled holes in bed, but actual attachments.
I use surge brakes on my trailers, utility trailers, because brakes on trailers at a certain weight are required by law.
Though 7k is the heaviest i can go because my GENY HITCH is only rated for 7 k.
So..........
I am not properly equipped, and cannot tow 7500 lbs.
Ball rated for 8k and pins rated at 10k.
So yeah, you can tow, all rangers are the same. Just make sure you have proper equipment.
Be safe, drive smart, keep the rubber side down.

20220211_100153.jpg

20220211_101800.jpg

Last edited:
OP
OP
mm10

mm10

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger Lariat SC FX4