Glocker

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger XLT FX4, 2014 Mustang GT
Vehicle Showcase
I'm an aftermarket wheel newb, and I may be coming into a set of Black Rhino wheels soon. I've pretty much narrowed it down to two different style wheels from Black Rhino; the Armory and the Arsenal. Stage 3 motorsports put a set of the Armory wheels on their SEMA Ranger in 17x9.5 with a 6mm offset with BFG KO2 AT 285/70R17. Would I have any issues running that size wheel (17x9.5 w/ 6mm offset) with my Falken Wildpeak 275/72R17 tires? Would the Arsenal wheels even fit my truck at 17x9.5 with a -18 offset?

What is the offset on our stock wheels?

Help?
?

ETA: I'm gutted. It looks like my tires aren't going to fit on a 9.5" wide wheel. The wheels will probably get put up in storage until I wear my tires out. ?
Sponsored

Last edited:

Brett Fields

First Name
Brett
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Lariat FX4, Blackout, Tow
Occupation
Paramedic
I had the 18" black wheels. They're a +55 offset. I went to a +20 Fuel shok wheel. 285/70 r17 KO2'S.

DukeCanBuildit

First Name
Duke
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 XLT SuperCab
Occupation
Husband-Caregiver
Vehicle Showcase
Hey John,

I see in one of your showcase photos that your front crash bars are in place, so I’m guessing your rear bars are as well.

If you’re dead set on leaving them in, you‘ll have fewer choices when it comes to wheel offset and tire size. However, you’ll still be able to have a larger, more aggressive tire without any issues.

There are two main areas of rubbing to avoid:
  • the knuckle
  • the crash bar
With wider tires, there’s a risk of rubbing the knuckle. Easily remedied by wheel spacers on OEM wheels or a lower offset on aftermarket wheel. But you can only go so far with the thickness of a spacer or the reduction in offset before you start rubbing on the crash bars.