Arc Ranger

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger XL SuperCrew with STX package
Vehicle Showcase
In my original post I said about an inch of slack, and that was way off. Looked at it again and its probably in the ballpark of 3/8". I just eyeballed it, but I'm pretty good at stuff like that (I'm an Architect FWIW). I sat on the tailgate and it wasn't enough weight to engage the loose cable (I weigh about 150 pounds). Its possible that if I were to load something with significant weight it might flex the tailgate enough to engage the loose cable, but this just seems like shoddy design to me.
Sponsored

DrRoger

First Name
Roger
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2011 Taurus, 2019 Ranger XL (May 20)
Occupation
Retired
ever try and swage crimp cable ends to an exact dimension?
not an easy task to get really bang on. and does it really matter in this case?
an unloaded tailgate will easily tighten the shortest cable first, and we dont even need the lengths to be off by much and it'll show.
i guess some could be fractions of an inch off, some may only be thousandths.
If you'rs if off by alot and it bugs you to no end, we should start an exchange pool. Measure your wrong dimension cable, log it into a data base and when someone else needs that length, they can exchange it until everyone is happy with the lengths.

other than sitting there drinking a frosty beverage and looking at the cable getting frustrated about it, who really cares?
you don't generally drive the truck that way and when the tailgate is weighted down hauling something, the slack is taken up by flexing etc.
other than sitting there drinking a frosty beverage and looking at the cable getting frustrated about it, who really cares?
Exactly. I NEVER would have noticed if this discussion was not started. Just pressed down lightly and it tightened up.

OP
OP
Arc Ranger

Arc Ranger

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger XL SuperCrew with STX package
Vehicle Showcase