First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger, 2019 cargo van, soon to be 1993
Occupation
Crown Forklift Technician
I have been an engineer for the past 46 years and every single engineering decision is a compromise of some sort and the single biggest compromise driver is cost.

Did Ford do their testing on the 2.3 with the FL-910S spec filter? Absolutely, and it met the MINIMUM requirements to be certified for production. Can you do better? absolutely. Can you show objective evidence that you are doing better? probably not. It's just like the 2.3 being tested and certified with synthetic blend oil but most everyone agrees that synthetic is better and there are great debates as to which synthetic is the best, yet no one can show objective evidence that their engine will last longer on synthetic verse blend.

A larger filter has several advantages; 1) more filter media means less pressure drop resulting in less likelihood of the filter bypassing and allowing unfiltered oil to circulate through the engine. 2) a larger filter has more surface area to dissipate heat lowering the likelihood of over heating the oil. 3) the increased volume of oil means each molecule of oil has to do less work extending it's life.

When you go to the store and buy a filter an FL-910S, FL-400S, FL-300 and FL-1A are all going to be the same price. But when Ford goes out for quote for a million filters there is going to be a price difference based on size from the material content. Since the FL-910S is the smallest it is going to be the least expensive. That cost savings goes straight to the bottom line. Hence, the engineering compromise is to use the least expensive filter that meets the minimum requirements.