TXRanger13

First Name
Matthew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Ford Ranger Lariat
Hello All –

I am new to Ranger life. I recently purchased my first truck. I now am the proud owner of a Ford Lariat FX4.

This weekend, there was snow in the area. The snow was not sticking, but the pavement was still very wet. I thought it would be a great opportunity to test out the 4H option on the vehicle I quickly learned that it was not the right move (PLEASE NOTE – I was unfamiliar with 4WD vs. AWD at the time. After my journey, I read a lot about the difference, and that 4H was not needed in this instance.).

Overall, here is the timeline of my events. Ultimately, I wanted to see if my truck is OK after the following series of events:

-Left garage: While in park, I turned on 4H. In reverse, the truck came to a slow stop as I started to slowly turn the wheel to get out of the parking spot. I thought this was the engine breaking, but quickly realized this was binding as a result of my research. I did not press on the gas to force the issue. I proceeded to reverse out in 2H.

-Prior to leaving the garage, I flipped it back to 4H. I proceeded to drive on the highway (damp, snowy conditions including wet pavement, but no snow accumulation) for about 8 miles. There were no sharp turns.