First Name
Rob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger XLT 4x4
Occupation
retired
I have a new 2021 Ranger and plan to install a TBC in the next few weeks. I am liking the Redarc Tow-Pro Liberty.
I would like to make use of the brake light signal but, am not liking having to snake wires through the Ranger.
Is there another way?
I have been reading some of the back threads and am getting confused by it.

Also, besides the BC itself, do I need to buy anything else?

thx
Sponsored

Jedadiah

First Name
Jed
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger XLT Supercab 4x2
If you use the Redarc Liberty (as I have), you'll just use the four wires under the dash.

As far as I know, only the Ford module needs to go to the third brake light for the extra Lumen module. I'm guessing if the third brake light would work on its own as the signal wire, then the Ford TBC wouldn't need the Lumen module at all. I'm no expert by any means though.

Jedadiah

First Name
Jed
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
My install is the same as this one. I just used the Liberty instead of the Elite.

Grumpaw

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger Lariat Sport Supercab
Occupation
Navy Vet., Retired Police Sgt.
I also have a 2021 and will be getting the Redarc Elite for my Ranger. It's the standard Elite, not the Ford "Ranger" version. The only way to utilize the brake light signal is to buy the Ford version.
Otherwise, the regular Elite, or even the Liberty version, simply hooks up to the 4 brake controller wires under the dash...4 wires from the brake controller to the 4 wires under the dash, Nothing else is needed.
But as many others have noted, your safety stuff will need to be turned off...if you leave it on, the truck may brake, but the trailer brakes will not function, thus the weight of the trailer and it's momentum will still act on pushing the truck forward.