Bill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Ranger STX
Occupation
Retired
Vehicle Showcase
Got an oil change this week and the service rep advised me I was due a 20,000 mile ethanol treatment and a coolant change at 40,000 miles. How can you expect a young service technician to respect the customers and their vehicles when they know their managers are trying to scam all the customers ?
I used to be an installer at Sears. The sales staff were almost to a man as big a group of hucksters as any you'd find at the slimiest used car dealer. One day one of them sold a 4 wheel balance to a very nice woman in a Porsche. I only had enough weights to balance two wheels and I told her so. She canceled and rescheduled far enough out for the shop to resupply and the salesman came out to the shop and got in my face. He told me that just because we didn't have enough weights to do the job was no reason not to charge her full price for half a job. I quit that day and now Sears is gone. Good riddance.
Sponsored

AzScorpion

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Ford Ranger Tremor
Occupation
CEO of DeeZee
That's strange for a dealer to do that and I've always rewetted a full synthetic without any hassles. Now I try to stay away from the dealership after my initial purchase as much as possible. I use Brakes Plus and just had my oil changed at 1,350 miles with a full synthetic. We were leaving on a 5,000 mile road trip and I like to change it around 1,000 miles when new. With the high heat we have here it's well worth the $75.00 for a full synthetic oil change.

Joeiconic

First Name
Rob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger XLT
I only put about 10k year on my truck and change every 5000 miles, so I just use the blend. In fact, I have 100’s of thousands of miles on Ford trucks using the blend and have never had an issue. It’s easy to over think it.

harringtondav

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)