Aircraft Tech

airline tech

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ranger Lariat-Super Crew, Cactus Gray
Occupation
Aircraft Tech
FWIW most of the bolts they specify as use and discard aren't because they are TTY, they are because the new ones come with pre-installed thread locker on them. You can simply clean them and use your preferred threadlock compound on them.
True however, as a technician I want to post information from the manuals as stated.
It is up to the individual owner or installer if they choose to follow the manual as written.
True, I stated incorrectly as an example, TTY Bolts generally are a torque to spec then a specific deg of rotation.
In aviation if the manual states discard the hardware and install new, it gets new. No deviation from that - period. It is not worth shortcutting something so simple as a bolt replacement over safety.
Remember there is no pulling over to the side of the road for an aircraft and when things break / malfunction that affects safety of flight it makes national news as they are making an emergency landing.

Starforce2

First Name
jason
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 ranger crew cab
Occupation
bus driver

Notthefordguy

First Name
Sam
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger 2.0D Biturbo Wildtrak, 2019 2.2 X
Thank you for this, really helpful. Does anyone by chance have the repair manual for the 2.0 Biturbo engine. Also 2019, made in South Africa and Asia.

airline tech

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
Aircraft Tech
Thank you for this, really helpful. Does anyone by chance have the repair manual for the 2.0 Biturbo engine. Also 2019, made in South Africa and Asia.
Although the manual here will be similar to the ROW Rangers , keep in mind that any wiring diagram will not match yours exactly

PonyXpress

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger