First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger Lariat 2wd
Occupation
Retired
Sorry if Im doing this wrong this is my first time using forums.
Since a catch can is really just an oil separator, and the 2.3L has a built in oil separator under the intake manifold. Do you still need a catch can. The one built into the 2.3L Ranger engine doesn't need emptying. It drains the separated oil back into the oil pan. See the attachment.

What do you think.

Oil Separator FordParts.jpeg
Sponsored

landiscarrier

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ranger Lariat, Focus ST
Occupation
Sales
I agree with your analysis. I'm leaving it the way it is and changing my oil on a regular basis with a quality synthetic oil.

HenryMac

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 SuperCab XL - FX4 - Magnetic - Rocksliders
Occupation
Mech. Engineer - Retired
Since a catch can is really just an oil separator, and the 2.3L has a built in oil separator under the intake manifold. Do you still need a catch can. The one built into the 2.3L Ranger engine doesn't need emptying. It drains the separated oil back into the oil pan. See the attachment.

What do you think.

Opinions vary all over the map on this. I agree with @landiscarrier, at least while the truck is under warranty I won't be installing a catch can. Mobil 1 Annual Protection oil and Motorcraft oil filters purchased from the local Ford dealer, changed by me every 4,000 miles.

jsphlynch

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger XL

What do you think.

For your reading pleasure, follow this link to find a thread with 25 pages of people discussing this very topic.

OP
OP
SAZ Ranger

SAZ Ranger

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger Lariat 2wd
Occupation
Retired
I agree with your analysis. I'm leaving it the way it is and changing my oil on a regular basis with a quality synthetic oil.