NvrFinished

NvrFinished

First Name
Shea
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 XLT 4x4 Rapid Red
Question. Forgive me I am a noob to trucks. When I off-road on washboards and I speed up I notice it’s easy for the truck tires to start changing directions accidentally from the bumps. Is that normal?
Yes, this is normal. The reason it's harder to control direction is because the tire contact patch is only coming in contact with the high points of the ripples you are riding over. Lower tire pressure reduces the jarring you feel when the tire comes in contact with those points.
Sponsored

dondonbabyraptor

First Name
Brandon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Ford Ranger Lariat
Occupation
I/O Psych MSc student
Yes, this is normal. The reason it's harder to control direction is because the tire contact patch is only coming in contact with the high points of the ripples you are riding over. Lower tire pressure reduces the jarring you feel when the tire comes in contact with those points.
Thank you Shea for the explanation. I’ll try airing down the off-road tires to 20 next time and that should help a lot.

OP
OP
NvrFinished

NvrFinished

First Name
Shea
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 XLT 4x4 Rapid Red
Hi Shea,