1994 Ford Ranger Splash, do I buy? What should I be aware of?

Tracy Bowman

First Name
Tracy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2013 Hyundai Accent, 2001 Ford F-150, 2019 Ford Ranger FX4 Saber Lariat
I know I’m not a mechanical genius like many on here, but here’s my 2 cents. I think $4000 for a 1994 is too high. We bought a 1998 Ranger about 9 months ago for our son(the 4th one we’ve bought him over the years). It had $100,000 miles on it but was in VERY good shape. We paid $900.
Sponsored

Dr. Zaius

First Name
Dennis
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger XLT FX4
Yeah… it’s a bit odd to me. Appreciate you highlighting this concern as well.

I think it has been altered a bit that’s probably why he is selling maybe. Can’t pass smog.. I hold love to have an older truck just to learn manual and something to beat up on light trails. Appreciate the insight on the compression test. Good info.

It would be really cool to do a build project on an older vehicle. Just wondering if it’s out of my capabilities or knowledge and taking on too much of its got smog issues and such. Thunderbird coupe would be beautiful ?
Oh. Just noticed you're in CA.

Go ahead and forget about the TurboCoupe engine swap.

Maybe still a later 5.0 but being CA I don't know if I would even want to deal with all the red tape.

Fitzmotor

Gold Sponsor
First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger Tremor, 75 crewcab F350, 65 Mustang
Occupation
Retired from Honda Racing.
I'm not sure about that one, but some of those had the plastic bed, I think the inner box was steel but the sides were plastic.

OP
OP
dondonbabyraptor

dondonbabyraptor

First Name
Brandon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Ford Ranger Lariat
Occupation
I/O Psych MSc student