PSA For you folks that are removing / modifying the crash bars to install bigger tires.....

M SPEC

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger Tremor, 05 &10 Subaru STI, 911, LC +2
Occupation
ER Nurse/Nursing Instructor Retired
With the exception of posting my fun video above I'm staying out of this discussion at this point on account of 0 new information regarding the validity of Ranger forward intrusion beams.

RP, I reinstalled the passenger side ones so we can start going out for White Claws again.
I just posed here about this issue. Did you actually reinstall the crash bar or is this simply, as I presume, "tongue in cheek". If you did do it or know someone who did do you need to remove fender to do so. I apologize for my ignorance on this issue. I'm new to Rangers, not new to building cars.
Sponsored

Msfitoy

First Name
Sid
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger, 2003 MINI Cooper S, 2021 Honda CT125
Occupation
Automotive, Industrial Designer
Vehicle Showcase
I just became aware of this issue because of this forum, so first off THANKS. I recently purchased a used 2021 Tremor from my dealership. While painting my brake calipers (actually my wife has always been our brake caliper painter) I noticed the square tube ending with just a bolt through it and didn't think much about it at the time...until now! Obviously the previously owner removed the crash bars in order to fit the 1" (approximately) wheel spacers which brings me to my two questions. Can the bars be replaced without removing fenders ( I saw in the instructions for the aftermarket one you cut the bars to remove them...so my guess is no not an easy replacement job. Question two: do the 1" spacers on stock wheels and tires necessitate the removal of the bars or is this a case of overkill?
I would appreciate any input members have on this issue......Thanks!