Intake manifold spacer: legit performance accessory?

Racket

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Lariat Supercrew 2WD
Occupation
Transient
Forum sponsor Boomba Racing has announced a nice looking spacer for our ecoboost that - per their advertising - improves torque, HP and gas mileage...

Sounds too good?

The new Boomba product has extra ports unlike the Steeda 2.3 version that sells for one hundred bucks less. That and adapters for those of us with engine covers.

Can we be sure of the advantages with a direct injection motor?
Sponsored

Reactions: Doc

Wytchdctr

First Name
Doug P.
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 XLT
Occupation
Retired Military/HR Manager
I'm not an engineer but what gets me with the dynos was the lack of loss anywhere in the powerband screwing with the intake length/the airflow dynamics. I could see changing that moving the powerband with no other tuning etc but not just an increase.

Limited knowledge on that, but my last cars intake manifold had three "modes" aka lengths via valves to help make more power at a given rpm. After I got a K&N typhoon on it you could really hear the change over.

Maybe the turbo changes that, but it seemed odd to me.

OP
OP
Racket

Racket

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
Transient
Boomba Racing is now saying they will come out with a throttle body spacer for our trucks as well.

I'm still trying to visualize how adding space to the intake past the throttle body on a direct injection turbo motor changes performance and/or improves gas mileage.

Not saying it can't. When I put on my fatter intercooler charge pipes I drove for a little more than a week with just the cold side pipe on.