Amazon falling asleep at the wheel.

Gerder

First Name
Gerd
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
WorldRanger ˋ19 TKE, several VW Rabbit (Golf) MK2
Fair enough. My last comment may have been unreasonable. Either way, people who drive for work shouldn't be permitted to damage company or public/private property without recompense. The truck I saw was pretty beat up. I'm sure Amazon has a rigorous selection process for most jobs. I think companies ought to treat their employees well enough that they elect not to attempt unionization. I work in manufacturing and have yet to have to work with a union and hope not to for the foreseeable future.
I think you missed the point were a union is the only „organisation“ wich is (theoretically) able to fight for ur interests as a employee against politics and tycoons… and yes I know about the american reservations and the trust in individual freedom/responsibility… but at the end you are nothing until you are a zillionaire. we all know that has nothing to do with hard work, i hope.

</politics>
Sponsored

Gerder

First Name
Gerd
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I think @JTDay has a valid point. As someone that comes in contact with Amazon package delivery drivers in Amazon branded trucks, independent contractor trucks, and the gig-drivers in their personal vehicles on dozens of occasions every week, I can attest to the lack of care that Amazon drivers of all types have for their equipment, but also the lack of care they have for themselves as a general rule. I see them show up in badly battered trucks and personal cars, I see them in varying degrees of casual dress, right down to pj's and flip flops (gig drivers, mostly). Those that are driving the vans are in extreme casual dress more often than not, and rarely in anything that can be identified as a "uniform".