How to tell if lift/level has been done.

Volkswilliam

First Name
Will
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger XLT FX4
Occupation
Weld Inspector
OK I feel kind of stupid asking this but I'm new to 4WD stuff...

I need to know how to tell if my truck has a level or lift kit.

I bought my 2019 FX4 last year with 10k miles on it and as far as I could tell or was told by the dealer, the only mod that was done was an aftermarket tow package (That they screwed up the wiring on but I have fixed).

I have always thought the truck looked a little more aggressive than other rangers but didn't think much of it until today I parked next to an identical truck. FX4 with same wheels and tires (stock) and my truck is at least an inch taller in the front. Mine has a canopy and the other didn't so hard to tell in the rear. Later today someone walked up and asked me about my "Lift" and I didn't know what to say.

Then I got a hole in the sidewall of my tire and its finally time to upgrade the tires but I want to know if I've got a level or lift kit before I buy because maybe I can go bigger than I thought!

So how do I tell if theres a lift or level kit?

Thanks!
Sponsored

AzScorpion

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Ford Ranger Tremor
Occupation
CEO of DeeZee
Hey Will, First take a look and see if you can tell if the shocks have been replaced. It should be obvious if they're stock and if they're aftermarket they'll have the brands name on them like Bilstien or Eibach.

A level kit are just spacers sitting on top of the front springs. That's what I have and it'll look like the picture below. More than likely it has a level kit seeing as they left the stock tires. If it were a lift most end up going larger with their tires. Even with a level you can still go up in size but a lift gives you more options to go even larger. Not the best picture.but you can see the spacer at the top and the bolts on the top might still look new. Hope this helps.