First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 XLT Ranger Sport
Occupation
Truck Driver
I know nothing about tuning, an as much abut computers for that fact. Seems like everyone on here is an expert. So I'll be the idiot...Tuners...(apparently not FM/AM)
How do you do it, can a regular Joe do it, how much does it cost?...etc.
Somebody wanna explain the basics? I know it's getting into the computer and screwing stuff up so it never runs right again and leaves Ford an out when you blow it up!
But if I wanted said increased torque(mostly for wheelin') and HP, easier to buy it from Rousch or Ford an have "my guys" do it, or is it a learnable item? I was a mechanic before computers so...
Sponsored

arbjosh

First Name
Josh
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger Fx4
Occupation
Arborist
Writing the tune would take a lot of understanding of the vehicle and the software. Not something that just anyone can do or learn to do quickly.

So you basically have a few options. Tuning through Ford, tuning from one of the online shops (Livernois, 5star, etc) or going to a performance tuning shop and having them do it in person. I would say the first two are the way to go. If you buy a tune from someone online they will either sent it preloaded on a device or if you have the device they will email it to you, you upload it on the device and then install it onto your ECU. I've only done it on my F250 when I had it and I'm sure it's basically the same. You plug the tuning device into your OBD port and follow the prompts, takes about 10 minutes.

OP
OP

Jms81661

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 XLT Ranger Sport
Occupation
Truck Driver
Installing a purchased tune? It is pretty easy, basically plug the device in under the dash and follow the steps on the device.
I want it specifically to get more umph when the bigger tires go on.
Thanks for the input.?

OP
OP

Jms81661

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 XLT Ranger Sport
Occupation