First Name
Stewart
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Ranger XLT F4 Tow package
Occupation
Investment Advisor
I have been towing my Featherlite 2 horse slant since 2005. First with an X5 with the straight six gas engine, then with my 2011 X5 diesel. The trailer weighs 3500lbs. I have had and used the Weight distribution hitch. I use a Tekonsha Prodigy RF brake controller. It works flawlessly.

The Ranger purchase was done becuase the 2011 is getting a bit tired - 403,000kms and the transmission is feeling a bit slippy.

I ordered and received an XLT with the FX4 package, spray in bed and Tow Package. I then set about figuring out what I needed. First, the receiver height is 19", and my BMW was 12". So I got a drop hitch that went down 8". I needed new chains, as my original ones were too short. Amazon took care of that. The truck was really unstable, to my surprise. Purusing forum posts, I realized that my rear shocks needed changing, so I got some Bilsteins online and changed them. The towing got better! I dropped the air pressure to the stock 30 all around. It got better. Then I read some more, and using the WDH put more weight on the front. That seemed to work okay, unloaded! I don't know where to get my trailer weighed, tongue weight etc, so I basically relied on my senses....

The big day come and we loaded up the trailer with gear, luggage, hay, shavings (those in the truck bed), the horse, and five of us in the truck!

Our first day towing was a 500km trip. It was quite windy. I kept the speed to 90-95kms, at times a bit slower if the gusts were hard. I was passed by many, many big rigs, but strangely they didn't affect me much. About three hours in, I experimented with the Cruise Control. Strangely, everything worked better! I was very careful with this, but ultimately I relaxed a lot with the cruise!