Tow Point Rating

Ugly_Betty

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger Lariat FX4
So I've checked the owner manuals for 2019-2021 Rangers and the only reference to the front tow points is that they exist (if equipped), no mention of weight rating. The F150 manual states not to put any more load on them than the GVWR of the vehicle. NOW....in using these as recovery points, are we really safe in hooking up a recovery strap to them for this purpose? I'm new to off-roading so I just want to make sure. What say you?
Sponsored

P. A. Schilke

First Name
Phil
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger FX4 Lariat 4x4, 2020 Lincoln Nautilus, 2005 Alfa Motorhome
Occupation
Engineer Retired
Vehicle Showcase
So I've checked the owner manuals for 2019-2021 Rangers and the only reference to the front tow points is that they exist (if equipped), no mention of weight rating. The F150 manual states not to put any more load on them than the GVWR of the vehicle. NOW....in using these as recovery points, are we really safe in hooking up a recovery strap to them for this purpose? I'm new to off-roading so I just want to make sure. What say you?
Hi UB,

I wish the owner's manual was so much better than it is, so I do not know the tow points rating, but, in my opinion, based on the F Series....I think you are going to be just spot on fine at GVW...Now how do you assess that the points are at GVW when you are stuck? Use them and get out of trouble...if they bend....go buy some more... Damn lawyers are in the way here...

I recall entertaining a commerical where we hung a F series from a crane on one tow hook. Not sure if this ever took place, but our analysis was it would work. Statically. Not a snatch loading...do not know about the dynamic loading.

So bottom line....use them to get out of trouble...deal with the aftermath if any...

Best,
Phil Schilke
Ranger Vehicle Engineering
Ford Motor Co. Retired

Frenchy

First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)