Tow Package Decreases Ranger Departure Angle?

Car1

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep
I'm pretty impressed that a Ranger can tow up to 7,500 lbs. However, I mostly want the Ranger for off-road use so I'm wondering if adding the option trailer hitch will reduce the departure angle for the Ranger?
Sponsored

2020FRL

First Name
Alan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Ford Ranger Lariat, 2014 Harley Tri Glide
Occupation
Retired
Yes, slightly.

Trying to understand this ... is this because of the added weight or because the hitch is closer to the ground? Or both?

Ranger_Pawl

First Name
Paul
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Ranger XLT Supercab
Occupation
- Draftsman
Trying to understand this ... is this because of the added weight or because the hitch is closer to the ground? Or both?
I'm no expert, but I believe it is due to the tow package sticking out below/back of the bumper:

1614779220779.png

THLONE

First Name
Thom
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
68 Chev C-20, 2019 Ford Ranger XL 4X4
Occupation
internet wise guy
Vehicle Showcase
Carl, are you trying to make a point?

Cabose-1

First Name
Eli
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ranger XLT FX2
Occupation
Student
It takes away about 2 degrees. So yeah, not a big issue, well, for me anyway, and i would rather scrape the hitch than the bumper, provides a recovery point, and if its really that much of an issue. 2 c clamps and a 21mm socket help take of 4 bolts, remove the hitch, put the bolts back on so you dont lose the bumper

OP
OP

Car1

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep
It takes away about 2 degrees. So yeah, not a big issue, well, for me anyway, and i would rather scrape the hitch than the bumper, provides a recovery point, and if its really that much of an issue. 2 c clamps and a 21mm socket help take of 4 bolts, remove the hitch, put the bolts back on so you dont lose the bumper
Your read my mind about how many degrees were lost with the towing hitch, thanks!