First Name
Michelle
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Ranger
Occupation
Medical
When I put on the breaks there is about a 2 second delay and then I hear a thud! It’s coming from the back of the truck. They tell me my spare tire is not shifting. Can’t figure out what it could be.... any ideas?
Sponsored

OP
OP

Michelle

First Name
Michelle
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Ranger
Occupation
Medical
Possible a dry slip joint on the drive shaft?
It’s brand new so is that still a possibility? The service department at Ford has been no help. Very frustrating.

OP
OP

Michelle

First Name
Michelle
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Ranger
Occupation
Medical
I got this.....

im an assassin by trade.
when i am peeling away from a call and driving spirited through the streets, i too get the sound when hitting the brakes hard and the body rolls forward and hits the front of the bed.

check for a body in there perhaps. maybe one of my competitors got lazy and did a drive by dumping into the bed of your truck instead of going to the usual construction sites downtown that pour concrete at 2am.
So funny because that’s exactly what it sounds like! Ha! I’ve even checked the bed of the truck numerous times! ?
No bodies. ??
I’m beginning to think the bed of the truck has to catch up with the truck once I brake. It’s so odd. I brake. Then THUMP!

Trigganometry

First Name
Rick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
20 XLT scab 301A/tow 4X4 magnetic w/sport blackout
Occupation
Engineering
Back when we got snow here it would collect in the bed as I don’t have a cover yet. Once it warms up a little and starts melting is when the thuds start. It sloshes front to back and compacts in both directions starting and stopping. Once it gets packed hard it starts slamming with a great thud! Open the tailgate and punch it and drop the turd. Ahhh that’s better ?

OP
OP

Michelle

First Name
Michelle
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ford Ranger
Occupation
Medical