Ranger Turbo Mods

Indy650

First Name
john
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger Lariat
I apologize ahead of time if there are already questions like this on here but I didn't see any. I'm a powersports mechanic but I have had fairly limited experience with turbos just a few turbo snowmobiles. Is it possible to adjust the waste-gate on the Ranger's turbo to create more boost? Are there any performance parts out or will the parts for the 2.3 Mustang work? I have the Turbosmart BOV but alone its not going to really do anything except make a little noise.
Also has anyone tried the down-pipes or exhausts that are out yet? Down-pipes often have a great hp increase depending on the ability to improve on the stock one. I remember the 7.3 powerstroke aftermarket down-pipes make a pretty good difference.
I think 350hp and 400+ torque would be fairly easy to obtain with this engine and be a whole lot of fun. Maybe its just me but it seems like the ranger falls on its face in the higher rpm range maybe its the twin scroll turbo IDK.
Sponsored

Roofhopper

First Name
Ted
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger XLT FX4
Occupation
HVAC Service Manager
Vehicle Showcase
@RCMUSTANG Probably has the most performance mods on the site currently, I’m sure he could tell you about benefits of some of the current after market items. Right now AFE seems to be leading the charge with down pipes, exhausts and charge pipes. A bigger intercooler will help also, Ford performance has some 2.3 Mustang cams but not sure if they will work

OP
OP
Indy650

Indy650

First Name
john
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger Lariat