First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Ranger
Occupation
Retired
Performed my first oil change today on my 2022 Ranger XL at 3,650 miles and found a number of non-ferrous (probably aluminum) metal shavings in the drained oil. Truck has had mostly highway and around town miles, one light trip off-road on a moderately steep gravel road in 4x4 @ around 20-30mph, nothing crazy, probably never had the RPM above 3500. No towing.

I'm no mechanic, but any metal shavings in the oil is not good news as far as I know. Anyone had the same on their first oil change? Could this be shavings from manufacturing? Any recommendations on how I should handle this with the dealership? Engine runs fine as far as I can tell, no excess noise, nothing that would lead me to think something was wrong.

Thanks and Happy 4th.

Coin.jpg

mileage.jpg

Shavings.jpg
Sponsored

Last edited:

BS67

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ranger XLT
Occupation
Eye Tech, 2A supporter, USMC "Doc" '89-'95
I'm sure informing the dealer is gonna end with them saying that's breaking in a new engine! I'm surprised the filter didn't trap those particles.

JasonTremor

First Name
Jason
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger Tremor XLT
Hard to tell from the pic, but looks like it could simply be aluminum casting bits which could be normal. They would be heavy enough that they would likey settle at the bottom of the pan. Cutting the filter open and expanding the filter media is the only real way to see what condition things are in.

OP
OP

TacomaRanger

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ford Ranger
Occupation
Retired
I'm sure informing the dealer is gonna end with them saying that's breaking in a new engine! I'm surprised the filter didn't trap those particles.