Is this engine noisy or am I just expecting too much?

TORQUERULES

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ranger
I'm new to the EcoBoost line of engines and honestly I'm not sure what to expect my truck has almost 13,000 miles on it now and I haven't really paid any attention to noises or anything like that and recently I've just been running with the AC on and the windows up and just not even listening to the radio. I've noticed that sometimes under light acceleration I'll hear what basically just sounds like valve train noise mostly coming from the driver side of the engine and when I roll the windows down I can't even really hear it outside. The only time I've actually been able to is right beside a building. I'm not sure if this is normal, if it's the direct injectors, the hpfp, or maybe even a slight exhaust leak because I have the mbrp exhaust which doesn't have a flex coupler and I haven't tightened it up in a few months. Am I going crazy, or is this just something that's intrinsic to this line of engines? It's not very loud, it's faint and like I said it just sounds like a sewing machine kind of valve train noise like you would have with a set of mechanical lifters or something like that and it only happens under light acceleration and light load. Most of the time you can't hear anything at all other than the engine and if you get on the gas a little bit and it stops. My previous DI engines have all been Mazdas and they really have a lot of sound dampening under the hood.
Sponsored

JaysOnTheEDGE

First Name
Jay
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger XLT Sport 4x4, 2021 Escape SEL AWD
Pretty normal noises, between all the cool technology up there. sounds worst for me though my hearing aids amplify all that noise so it sounds like a box of rocks to me. ?. I sprung for the engine cover helps a little.

OP
OP
TORQUERULES

TORQUERULES

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ranger
It has surprised me. I guess Ford didn't really worry about NVH with this truck.