Hitch? What do I need

d_ganggreen

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger Lariat
Hello everyone, total newbie here. I just bought my 2019 Lariat and it has a towing package on it and the trailer sway button. I assumed it would have a hitch but does not. It looks like it has the bar underneath just no mounted hitch. What would I need to add this?
Sponsored

Texasota

First Name
Al
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Ranger XLT, 2023 Escape PHEV
Hello everyone, total newbie here. I just bought my 2019 Lariat and it has a towing package on it and the trailer sway button. I assumed it would have a hitch but does not. It looks like it has the bar underneath just no mounted hitch. What would I need to add this?
You need to purchase a ball mount and a hitch ball. Many forum members are finding that they need a ball mount with a 6” drop and maybe more depending on the trailer.
There is a thread with much discussion on this subject. Search for ball mount in the thread titles.

Rick - Saber

First Name
Rick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Sport Ranger 4x4
Hiyas,

Not sure exactly what you are asking about, what or how heavy you are planning to tow. I will toss some ideas out there and let you decide. I'm sure others will chime in with ideas as well.

Our trucks tend to sit kinda high so the receiver is up there if you have a small utility trailer. I got a hitch with a 4" drop that is capable of handling the 7,500 lbs we can tow.

Hitch balls, I have a 1-7/8" for the utility trailer and a 2" for the heavier boat trailer. Your trailer should say on it what size it needs. Verify the ball can handle the weight you are planning to tow as well.

Hitch pins can come with locks on them if you want. Grab a couple, never hurts to have a spare.

A wrench for the hitch ball (if not welded to hitch). I have a combo one of 1-1/8" and 1-1/2". The thing is about 16" long.