JoshuaH

First Name
Joshua
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ford Ranger XLT sport
Hello everyone,

This is my 1st time posting on this site but I have had my 2021 ranger xlt (sport) for about a year and a half now.

I am fairly new to towing and have mainly used the ranger for towing a light duty utility trailer (GVWR 3000lbs). I use it for a variety of reasons and use it frequently but I don't consider it "towing" since I rarely have more than 1000 lbs of weight on the trailer (approx 2000 lbs total) at one time.

However, I'm interested in getting involved with rv trailer camping. I love to go camping but feel I may be getting too old to be comfortable while tent camping.

I will likely be renting a trailer 1st to try it out; nothing huge. The one I was looking at only weighed 3000 lbs empty.

Anyway, I do not have a int. brake controller or WD hitch. The 1st thing I'm looking into is the brake controller. I really hate the look of anything after market and want it to function and look oem inside.

I understand that Ford dealerships will install this. I am curious as to what anyone's experience has been getting it installed.

I'm considering a CURT echo wireless brake controller as an alternative to avoid having a tech tear about the cabin if the truck. I just have my doubts about a wireless brake controller being as effective as a built in one.

Anyway, thanks in advance for any info. Sorry for the long post.
Sponsored

khyros

First Name
Jeff
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger Lariat Crewcab FX4
Vehicle Showcase
Don't worry about tearing into the truck. There's a harness taped back under the dash for the controller to attach to. The worst part is getting the brake light signal from the 3rd brake light so the automatic emergency braking will activate the TBC as well.

Jason B

First Name
Jason
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 XL STX SE 4x2
Occupation
machinist
OP
OP

JoshuaH

First Name
Joshua
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)