First Name
Ben
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger XLT Sport 4x4
Occupation
Marine Tech
Noticed since I bought my 2019 XLT 4x4 Sport Subercab that I have a slight vibration/droning at highway speed. It seems to be between 55-65mph with the peak around 58-62mph. Drawing from my past experience as a auto tech, I instantly felt like it was driveline related. I crawled under the truck and found that the middle and rear u-joints are out of phase from the factory, and the shaft is tattooed with balancing weights. I took it to the local dealer that I bought it from. I used to work there years ago and still know a few people there. Hoping Ford steps up and replaces the shaft assembly. I could've reindexed the slip yoke splines to correctly phase it, but it would likely throw the assembly out of balance....and it's still under warranty. Several guys in the Facebook group said they looked after I posted the video, and there's were out of phase also, so I'm not sure what the heck is going on in Ford's driveline shop. Here's the video I filmed.

Sponsored

Novaman71

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2009 xterra