Charging Sys-Question for Phil / Ford Techs / Anybody

airline tech

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Ranger Lariat-Super Crew, Cactus Gray
Occupation
Aircraft Tech
i am working on a full complete tutorial on how the charging system works, but I need some help. This system is somewhat confusing in regard to the system description given in the Service Manuals. I think I have it down, but I still have some questions.
I would like to create a -one stop posting that covers the whole system, including the trigger voltages that generate most of the issues owners have. I have pieced together a good amount of info, through various sources.
The issue is the system operation is never explained in detail:

I am a former auto tech but have been out of the field professionally for 30 years, so when I dove into this system out of curiosity on how it works, I was met with a ton of explanations from forums and the Service Manuals are very vague. so that leaves me confused on what is FACT and what is FICTION

From the Service Manual:
(Note: Even though this is for a 2020 Ranger, the 80% Ref: here is 75% for our Ranger, I deduced that by 75% is not mentioned anywhere except on this forum and viewed in FORscan. Battery Target SOC 75%, so this is a ref from another platform that did not get changed for the Ranger

Charging System

The PCM controlled Smart Charge charging system determines the optimal voltage setpoint for the charging system and communicates this information to the voltage regulator. The Smart Charge charging system is designed to set a DTC when a charging system fault is present. All of the Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs) can set continuous faults, but not all Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs) set as on-demand faults.