A/C recirculating button turns itself off all the time, how do I fix this?

Jackpot Tremor

First Name
Bill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ford Ranger Lariat Tremor 4x4
Occupation
Self Employed
Hey Group, need your help here.....maybe it's designed this way but I think it's stupid......I am a roofing contractor in So CA and have my A/C on all the time because I want to be cool as I'm driving all over and as I look at roofs all day in the heat.........I always make sure the A/c recirculating button is on as the A/C works better and NO outside smells come in my truck.......but it keeps "kicking" off......I hate the diesel exhaust smells, or a dead skunk, or skunk weed or any other bad outside smells but I am finding myself turning the recirculation button back on all the time......why does it do this??.......it's not needed in So CA for our mild climate.......I know nothing about "forscan" but will this device solve this??......love my 2021 Lariat Tremor but this (and no memory seats) is plain dumb! any help is appreciated!
Sponsored

jtzako

First Name
Jason
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Ranger XLT Tremor
My understanding is that it is related to humidity in the cabin. Not sure if there is anything else that disables that, but if its getting humid in there it will switch to outside air. Max A/C also uses recirculation but not sure if the button stays on or not.

The cabin air filter should help reduce any smells though. You might want to make sure that filter is actually installed, or see if there is a better version available.

Max Crafter

Banned
Banned
First Name
Max
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Ranger
Occupation
Retired
Its designed that way.
I recall someone was playing around with the humidity sensor, but felt there was more than one at play and had no success keeping it on recirc.

I get that some people like to breathe in their own farts all day long, and don't want to breathe other peoples farts, but there's a reason for its design.