John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 LT 4 x 4
Occupation
Electronics
Vehicle Showcase
Warning this is long to help others out and I am sure things could have been done better and I did some things wrong but its in and working ...... So my audio system in my 2021 XL stripper sounded ok but it had no backup cam in the dash display (its a tiny 2.5 inch screen in the backup mirror instead and I hated the 90's dot matrix display in the radio head. I AM NOT a techie guy . I havent installed a stereo in 30 yrs since it was just 11 wires back then and you were done. I still dont have all the head unit features working but I am really close . I purchased the Metra Faceplate made for the Pioneer 8" radio , Maestro RR2 steering wheel unit and F02 harness - I thought it would all work. I also had some help from bltfrdtgh so kudos to him helping me out . So you have to pick your make , model and steering wheel type, stereo model and serial number and switch functionality off the idata website for flashing the RR2 unit which programs your steering buttons functionality with the Pioneer - issue 1 they didnt have my specific 2021 stripper steering wheel to choose from so I chose the only one there . So you then flash your RR2 unit via usb laptop and your good to go . So you end up cutting off the 4 speaker wire RCA's and solder several other wires which are all color coded and matched up pretty good to the F02 harness. Then you plugin it all in the back of the Pioneer... additionally the USB cable,4 pin black data cable from the pioneer over to the rr2 , and a few other cables color coded over to the RR2 from the F02 harness, antenna (which you need an adapter cable to go from the factory Ford antenna lead to the old school Pioneer antenna lead, microphone .Of the three Ford block cable connectors poking out of my dash I only used the main -largest one. The other two were taped up and stuffed in the void behind the radio. So now that everything is plugged in - in theory you