Rusty

First Name
Rusty
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ford Ranger & 2016 Mustang GT
Vehicle Showcase
Wife was rear ended Thursday night car that hit her was going 45-50mph. The frame of the truck is bent where the receiver hitch mounts.

Any familiar with a total for frame bent? Bent on both sides about half an inch.

Thoughts?
Sponsored

9zero1790

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
21 super crew fx4 sport
Occupation
air breather
good grief a 50 mph hit is brutal. wife ok i hope?
im no expert but have been around collision repair and frame machines. my guess it can be repaired by a decent shop with the correct stuff but more damage could pop up as the work goes. a hit that hard can shift alignment of wheels and axles, drive shaft, sheer off bolts and so on. the insurance company may find it more appealing to say its totaled and then part it out for profit and give you a check.

Dr. Zaius

First Name
Dennis
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ranger XLT FX4
If it gets totalled, would the insurance payout reflect the true current market value?

OP
OP

Rusty

First Name
Rusty
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Vehicle Showcase
Wasn't sure if it could. Glad there is hope we don't have to worry about a total.

Thank you

AzScorpion

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Ford Ranger Tremor
Occupation
CEO of DeeZee
If it gets totalled, would the insurance payout reflect the true current market value?
It should but sometimes it's up to the insurance you have. On all my vehicles and my house I always add full replacement value at time of loss. This way it reflects the current market value and not a pro rated one.

OP I hope your wife is ok and there were no injuries. I'm pretty sure the rear is replaceable and even if it's not as long as it wasn't bent to bad they have great frame straightening machines now. Good luck!

Motorpsychology

First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ranger STX SuperCab 4X4, '09 Mariner